Boon Thai

Mediocrity. This is how I would describe this place. Boon Thai is located at the Rialto Newmarket food court. It was a random winter afternoon and we decided that Thai food would warm us up. The pictures looked great but in reality, it was average. We ordered the Tom Yum noodle soup and Basil chicken on rice. The portion is small for the price they were charging, and furthermore, the MSG is just a tad too much for me.

Tom Yum noodle soup.

Basil chicken on rice.

The Tom Yum noodle soup uses the instant noodle, which was fine because I’ve tasted a Korean version and it was great. I thought they were going to use authentic Tom Yum soup, I doubt it because it tasted like the Yum Yum instant noodle flavour. It probably was because the noodle was awfully similar to it. Portion was small, flavour was OK and price is not right ($10). I could have done this myself and did a better job, and for less than $10.

The basil chicken on rice wasn’t too bad. It was, in my honest opinion, average. Anyone can cook it, they just used basil leaves to flavour it up. Chicken portion was little, price was OK ($9) and it was salty.

Overall, not a place I’d recommend. If you want Thai food in Newmarket, I would suggest going to the Asian foodcourt underneath the Rialto carpark, otherwise if you really don’t want to move within the Rialto foodcourt, try Nandors, Subway or Fuku Sushi. Those are safer choice and “value for money”. I will give this place a 4/10. This is a combination of its mediocre taste offering and pricing – you can’t win ’em all.

On a side note: Fuku Sushi’s cheapest ‘piece’ is now $1.20. Urgh!

4 thoughts on “Boon Thai

  1. Hi there!
    I was hoping to look for bubble tea review in Auckland and found your blog, I am also planning to build a blog on Auckland’s food mainly Asian, been gathering pictures and hope to share with everyone tasty food and not so tasty food.

    Do you have msn/gmail etc? You can contact me through my email. Maybe we have something in common to chat about! Thanks and keep up with the good work

  2. Excellent to hear that – I’ve been looking for reviews as well and thought it’d be interesting to start one myself. There are, like you said, some tasty and not so tasty food around Auckland.

    Yes I have an email, foodiedoodie(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)nz, give me a buzz when you’ve started your blog. Looking forward to it.

  3. Hiya, me again. Re: Thai food in auckland. Again a total fan of this cuisine – and having been punished by many mediocre meals I was relieved to find Tom Yum Eden on Dominion Road (near Valley Road)
    http://www.zenbu.co.nz/entry/1125863-tom-yum-eden

    – I seriously stake my foodie reputation on this place. A thai friend came with me and unravelled the “thai menu” (i dont speak or read thai) which contains some fab stuff like Pad Sataw (Petai or stink bean cooked with pork and prawn – its sooooo good). They also do a mean squid larb, pad see eiuw – in fact just about everything is good – it tastes more robust to me than other thai places – home cooking style.
    its really reasonable too and BYO – next time you are tempted to go to Zap 2 seriously give this place a go instead!

Leave a Reply

