Movenpick

This is what I call a great business idea. I used to like the idea of eating fancy European ice cream on the beach. Back in the old days, Movenpick (the first cafe was in Mission Bay) had tasty ice cream and appealed to almost everyone that went to the beach. I’m talking about 2006/2007 by the way. Flavoursome ice cream at a ‘reasonable’ premium price.

But around mid 2007, our friends at Movenpick started to increase their price. That’s when I stopped going. Here is the price I took note of August last year:

  • $5.50 for a single scoop.
  • $7.50 for a double scoop.
  • $2 for an extra scoop.

This might have changed i.e. probably went up since it’s already September 2008. Someone can update me! Logically, you’d just go to Foodtown and buy a 1L Movenpick pottle (is that the correct word?) at around $10++. You can have 10-15 scoops.

Unknown Dessert from Movenpick.

Anyway, I believe price-wise, they were being dodgy. But you can’t stop a money-making machine, who probably pride themselves in being “special”. Movenpick has one more branch in Parnell, and I believe there is a Wellington branch coming up soon.

A rating for this place would be unfair as I haven’t been there since August 2007. I’d suggest trying it once, if you think it’s nice. Go again. But if you think it’s expensive, buy a 1L pottle from Foodtown. If you think that’s still expensive, try the Signature range premium ice cream! They’re good value for money!

2 thoughts on “Movenpick

  1. Lol. I loved this entry for its amusement..

    I believe that Movenpick is only a place that you go to if you are actually at Mission Bay and feel like icecream/it’s summer. Haha..

    But yes, I agree that it is a tad pricy and I haven’t been since earlier this year..

    But you can’t beat their name.. you (pretty much, in my experience) hear good things about it~ ^.^

  2. True true. They do have an appeal and high quality ice cream. And everytime I pass by their shop, there’s always a long line which explains why.

Leave a Reply

