Momo Tea

Normally this isn’t a place I would go to. But a couple of friends dropped by in Auckland and wanted to meet there. Obviously this place is quite a popular hangout, as it was pretty full when we dropped in at around 11pm on Friday. Momo Tea has three branches in Auckland (that I know of), one in the CBD, North Shore and Mt Albert. This particular review is held in Mt Albert.

In my head, I knew how the milk tea would taste like – frothy and milky. And lo and behold, it is. We ordered the “hot” taro pearl milk tea and cold original pearl milk tea. And to fight the midnight hunger, we ordered the chicken, beef and lamb sticks. Have a look at the pictures below.

Taro Pearl Milk Tea (Warm).

Original Pearl Milk Tea (Cold).

Chicken, Beef and Lamb Sticks.

The milk teas were reasonably priced at $5. You don’t expect to pay more than $6 for the mik tea. But I’m not a big fan of the frothy milky taste (thus recommending Easyway if you prefer less milky and more tea taste). The meat sticks were quite delicious, especially the chicken and beef sticks.  The lamb sticks had quite a bit of fat on it, so I avoided that with a vengeance. For $1 a stick, it’s very reasonable. They had other sticks, like chicken heart, liver etc.

Personally, my milk tea taste is of a unique standard (not too milky) so I wouldn’t drink it here. But the meat dishes is a good recommendation from me. However, for that particular night, there was an ‘aggressive’ waitress and she didn’t really talk politely (bad day perhaps?).

So with all that taken into consideration, I’ll rate the place 6.5/10. Their meat sticks saved them! So, if you’re into kebabs, satay sticks etc, come to Momo Tea.

9 thoughts on “Momo Tea

  1. There are only 3 in Auckland. The customer service at all of them is pretty bad. I’ve worked in management of customer service and I would never accept the way they serve at Momotea. But it’s hard to stay away from these place, ’cause like you said, the bbq is good. Although, the standard of drinks and food differentiates between the branches (which shouldn’t, should it?!).

  2. Thanks for your comment.

    I think (unfortunately) they do differentiate, with Mt Albert being the best because of their BBQ dishes. Still, the milk tea is not my liking.

  3. Good Day,

    Thank you thank you thank you for having this blog.

    Been living closed by the area normally wont hang out New North Rd Mt Albert during the night due to the infamous security reasons. Last time is such a drama, long story short the customer service is absolutely horrible. Been an Asian my self I would not recommend anyone willing to pay “good” money for the “doggy” services.

    But the manager who are on the duty last night are very professional plus the other stuff are nice as well. Its just the “sour” face young lady who got the straight short hair to the shoulder which makes me felt pity for her.

  4. The new Meadowlands Momotea is great from my point of view.

    I actually went back for this one in Mt Albert due to time constraints to take a friend to the airport, and I can wholeheartedly confirm it’s not recommended to go back as they have not changed!

    These guys at Mt Albert are in a different league – yes – they belong at the bottom. Low quality food with no taste!

  5. I’ve been there and I saw a big cockroach was crawling on the wall. So I said the waitress there’s “it”. But she said “That’z probably because of the wooden wall.” like it was no big deal. I was wondering how they get the “A” degree. besides that I liked the tea but food.

    • Thanks for the info. I hope they take note of your observation. Cockroaches are not a good sign.

      I won’t be going back there anytime soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

