Kongfu Tea Restaurant

It’s been a long and strange week for me, which made it quite difficult to get the “energy” to post a review. As I was thinking through about what to post, I decided on this one. It’s a place I randomly went into a few weeks ago – Kongfu Tea restaurant. They are located on Khyber Pass Road, very close to the Cock & Bull and opposite Selera.

One thing kept bugging me as I went inside. Everyting seems quite familiar and I realised it was formerly a Japanese restaurant. It still had the remnants of a Japanese  restaurant (furniture and even napkins!!). Anyway, Kongfu Tea restaurant offers ‘specialty’ Chinese dishes, i.e. from a certain province/dialect. We ordered two dishes as below:

Beef Rice Noodle Soup.

Braised Duck on Rice.

I bought the standard “safe” dish obviously, the beef rice noodle soup. For the size, it’s damn good value for money – only $7! Although it lacked a bit of taste, I think it’s a good thing (less MSG, less salt). There is the option to add chilli/soya sauce, which I rarely do. There was also the braised duck on rice, with minced garlic vinegar sauce and pork stomach salted vegetable soup; phew, that’s a mouthful. As I said before, that’s a specialty dish from a Chinese province. I quite like that as well, for $11 it’s quite filling and has a unique taste – especially the soup. =)

I guess if you want to be adventurous, try the ‘specialty’ dishes, and be prepared for the interesting ones like the soup above. Overall, I think the place deserve a 7.5/10. There are many dishes from standard dishes you’d see at many Chinese places, and also options to go for non-standard dishes. Also, it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. So go for it!

One thought on “Kongfu Tea Restaurant

  1. Hey funny just browsing through the places you’ve been to and saw you went to Kungfu tea restaurant too! Cool…at least now I know someone else has gone there!

Leave a Reply

