Halong Vietnamese Restaurant

I don’t often venture out to the west, so this a rare one. For now, as far west I can go is New Lynn. Yeah I know, that’s pathetic. As I was passing by the New Lynn mall, I noticed an out-of-place restaurant called the Halong Vietnamese Restaurant. So, I decided to try the place, mainly because I couldn’t find this other place.

Anyway, this restaurant is kinda secluded and clearly doesn’t look like a Vietnamese place. But it does try hard. Once I heard the kitchen staff spoke Mandarin, I knew it was owned or managed by Chinese. Similar to Hansan and the Vietnamese Cafe. Anyway, tried two dishes shown below.

halong-vietnamese-lemon-grass-chicken-and-roast-pork-slices-on-rice-copy

Lemon Grass Chicken and Roast Pork Slices on Rice.

halong-vietnamese-beef-noodle-soup-copy

Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup.

Both dishes were cheap, $10 or below. I think the noodle soup was about $8 or something. The noodle soup wasn’t too bad, but the rice dish was average. There’s nothing much I could say about the place except that it’s probably somewhere you’d go just to eat. There is nothing special but it is affordable.

My rating for the place is 7/10. No complains – just average!

Leave a Reply

