Lonestar

Lonestar, it’s all over the place.

I went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration, where the birthday guy didn’t know anyone else. Fantastic eh? I’ve been to Lonestar a few times. I’ve tried the lamb in Rototura, and it was quite nice – it probably helped that it was paid by the company *grins* I even tried the vegetarian option, I believe it was the burrito (I had a no-animal for food phase a year ago – check out the PETA website and you’ll see why). Both times I was satisfied.

Just a quick overview about Lonestar, they are like the Hooters of NZ. Girls dress as little as possible, usually wearing a singlet and short shorts. Nice eye-candy for the boys, probably not so for the gals.

This time round to Lonestar, I was pretty disappointed. Maybe because I chose the wrong dish.  Two dishes were sampled shown below:

lonestar-kiwi-joker-copy

Kiwi Joker.

lonestar-cajun-chicken-salad-copy

Cajun Chicken Salad.

The salad was not ordered by me. For $25.50, it was a nice dish but a tad overpriced. Personally, I have not seen a salad over $20 yet, maybe because it was during lunch. I ordered the Kiwi Joker, for $35.50. Now here comes the pun, I thought the dish was a joke! The beef was a ribeye, and I ordered it medium rare. It tasted very average. Nothing in the dish impressed me. It probably took the kitchen 10 mins to make it up (beef + potatoes + coleslaw + mushrooms + onions). For $35.50, I could have had a better dish somewhere else, or 3 very good Asian meals at the Newmarket Plaza Food Court.

This is a biased post as usual, so don’t take the rating too seriously.  Lonestar is just a tad overpriced and could do better with the meals. I probably chose the wrong dish, but sorry Lonestar, I ain’t gonna come back anymore unless someone really likes the place.

My rating, 5/10. I believe they do have good dishes, but to charge $35.50 for a dish, it has to be a flagship product.

2 thoughts on “Lonestar

  1. i’m with you. had their fajita platter and seafood chowder. their seafood chowder was decent but not great. their fajita platter which included angus sirloin bits was terrible. overpriced and poor ambience (relative to price) – there were heaps of kids running around the restaurant. not going back either.

  2. Hi there! I’d heard about lonestar being overpriced (but making up for it by giving you more than you can eat – for my friends anyway) – I was hoping to try it in the next few months but the price tag everyone’s been talking about has put me off; after your post, I guess I’ll wait until there’s a friend that really loves that place to try things out 🙂

    Always cool to see another blogger about food in Auckland! 🙂

Leave a Reply

