Malaysian Noodle and Rice House

It’s been too friggin’ long. I know, it’s my fault. But I’m back.

My day starts at 9am to 7pm everyday since I returned from my holiday in Melbourne – that was early last month! So work is keeping me very busy.

Anyway, I was venturing out to the West and found this supposedly good Malaysian restaurant. In fact, I used to go there when I first arrived in Auckland. I lived in Blockhouse Bay about 3 years ago, and what I’ve noticed is that there is a fair number of Indians there.

This “cafe” is called the Malaysian Noodle and Rice House on Wolverton Street, Avondale. It’s in an industrial area, a strange place to put a Malaysian place but ideal for suburbanites. Two dishes ordered for this review:

malaysian-noodle-salted-fish-and-diced-chicken-fried-rice-copy

Fried Rice with Chicken and Salted Fish.

malaysian-noodle-char-kuey-teow-copy

Char Kueh Tiaw.

The price is not too bad. The fried rice is a bit on the high side, $10 and the Kueh Tiaw is 8.50. A good eat out especially the Kueh Tiaw, but not exactly the best tasting.

My rating as I am in a hurry (again!), 7.5/10. It’s not bad, but it’s not the best.

3 thoughts on “Malaysian Noodle and Rice House

  1. Underrated indeed =)

    I haven’t gone to that place in Food Alley for a long time. I think back in the old days, they used to be cash payment only. Perhaps a return to that place soon.

Leave a Reply

