Food Junction – Tastes of Malaysia

If ya’ll didn’t know, today is the Malaysian National Day (Hari Kebangsaan), so I will post something Malaysian. πŸ™‚

I found this place thanks to a friend of mine. We keep in touch in the strangest ways; random texts at odd times of the year but hardly meet up. He’s probably a better reviewer and writer than me. Anyway, this recommendation of his is quite a pleasant surprise. My first thoughts of Food Junction – it’s in friggin’ Manukau! That’s far!

Although far, the Food Junction is located at the Te Irirangi off ramp on SH1, very accessible if you think about it. It will take about 10-15 mins from the city. The Food Junction is a food court with a lot of a variety, but for this occassion, I am targetting the Malaysian store – Tastes of Malaysia. The first thing I spotted is the fresh roti they make – which is the second time I’ve seen (after the Sri Lankan place at East Tamaki).

Samples of some of their dishes below:

Tastes of Malaysia - Mamak Mee Goreng

Mamak Mee Goreng.

Tastes of Malaysia - Roti Telur

Roti Telur.

Tastes of Malaysia - Murtabak

Murtabak.

The Mamak Mee Goreng is pretty good, and costs $9.50 It’s… dare I say it, better than the one at Sri Puteri in Panmure. It’s not wet, but not dry – just right and flavoursome.

The roti is probably their “flagship” product – the roti telur costs $9.50 and the murtabak costs $10. Both rotis are great, but I preferred the roti telur as it is not “heavy”. The curry sauce was fantastic, with at least one drumstick in there.

My rating for this occassion is a favourable 9.5/10. I am definitely going back again!

9 thoughts on “Food Junction – Tastes of Malaysia

  1. Ooh yum, think I need to drop by there personally one day. The takeaway portion seems bigger or maybe just the photo playing tricks on the old eyes.

  2. Just found your blog and am feeling slight envy at the number of cheap Asian eats you guys have up in Auckland! (above all, I’m now craving good, cheap ramen – nowhere to go in Wellington!)

    Fresh roti can be hard to come by in these parts, too – but sooo good, isn’t it?

  3. hello,

    I stumbled upon ur blog when I was looking for good pearl milk tea places around Akl (coz I’m kinda of running out of places to try too).
    Been following ur blog and realise we’ve been to many of the similar places.

    kinda random, but yea, just went to try this Roti Canai place today, and I was rather excited as well to see the fresh rotis~

    i’ve got a food blog myself too, let me know if u want to try anything else too.

    =) keep up the good work, coz i’m looking for good food arnd Akl~

  4. This place rocks – it is definitely my favorite Malaysian restaurant in Auckland. The roti is actually fresh and is spun in front of you. Now where else can you find this in Auckland???? πŸ™‚

    keep up the good work!

    • It’s at the corner of Cavendish Drive and Great South Road, if you’re coming from the CBD going towards Manukau, take the Te Irirangi exit. It’s the exit before going into Westfield Manukau / Rainbows End.

      I hope that helps. πŸ™‚

  5. There’s now one called “Tastes of Malaysia” in Panmure across the road from Sri Puteri. Apparently (as I’ve not been but been told abou it) the familiar face there is Albert of Alberts (ex-Mercury Plaza and Ponsonby food court).

    • Albert? Wow, he’s been around =) I’ve actually been there several times, and quite like the special they have (can’t remember what it’s called).

Leave a Reply

