Sri Pinang

Ever wondered if there’s anything good at all on K Road? Well, there is. I’ve always been quite afraid to go there after dark – for many reasons. When I was younger, it was no problem. Now I’m just old and afraid! =)

356 K Road is the place to be (click the link!). It’s near the bridge (not Grafton bridge) where all the bus stops. Sri Pinang is near some pubs and adult shops so it is in a strange place.

Sri Pinang is a small place, but the atmosphere is great. BYO is something they emphasise. Another thing, the host (not sure about her name) is very friendly. Usually, it pays to book, just to be safe.  For this occassion at Sri Pinang, we got a few interesting dishes as shown below:

sri-pinang-char-kuey-teow

Char Kuey Teow.

sri-pinang-sambal-eggplant

Sambal Eggplant.

sri-pinang-rendang-chicken

Rendang Chicken.

sri-pinang-pinang-curry-fish

Fish Curry.

All dishes are generally not too bad. I’d say the thing to try is the fish curry. It’s something I haven’t had for a while. I do have a feeling they cater for the Europeans because it’s not very spicy. Also by observation, it seems like the Lemon Chicken dish is a popular one. So you get the drift!

Price-wise, it hovers around $15-$20 per dish. So not bad for dinner. Not sure about their lunch menu.

My rating for this place is 7.5/10. It’s not authentic enough for me, but it does a good job in terms of service. I did see some very good reviews for this place and justifiably so, because of its location and target market.

Go have a try and see what you think.

2 thoughts on “Sri Pinang

  1. I know this is quite a late comment to leave after a review made over a year ago but I just have to add that Sri Penang have the BEST Rotis I have ever tried, they are are flaky, buttery and by far the best item on Sri Penang’s menu. It’s worth trying their Roti Curry for lunch, a small, spicy chicken curry with a roti, a steal at $6 …

Leave a comment