Mentatz

By now you’ve probably figured out that I “hang out” in town. Yes, very true, mainly because I work smack in the middle of the city, unlike my previous job.

Anyway, tried Mentatz, which is another Japanese ramen-ish place located in Lorne Street. It’s somewhere near Esquires. To be honest, my first few times here was average. I think because I tried to be adventurous and chose the non-standard ramen. On this particular occassion, we chose the basics – Shoyu Ramen (the 1st choice) and Katsudon. Both for under $10 (I believe.) Bah, it’s cheap anyway.

Picture below:

Katsu Don.

Shoyu Ramen.

Personally, these two dishes above are fantastic. Tasted great and it’s frickin’ cheap. I guess the only negative part is that it can be quite busy. I don’t really have much to say but to rate it 9/10.  A cheap eat after work or uni. =)

Also, right at the end of Lorne Street is a Korean pan cake shop. Here is a link with more pictures. I tried the cheese pancake before for $3 and it tasted great. It’s like pizza! They have a ham and cheese as well. I am not too sure about the chicken/beef ones. But you can tell it’s popular, there’s always a line!

4 thoughts on “Mentatz

  1. Hi! I’m so happpy that I found your page!!
    I’m new to Auckland too, so it’s very useful for me.
    I believe you’re from Malaysia???

    Anyway,
    I tried Tanpopo ramen on ANZAC street (I think ANZAC street, not familiar), their ramen is the best I think as some Japanese friends recommended. I tried this Mentatz before, it’s my first meal when I arrived in Auckland!

    • Hey! Thanks for your comment.

      Yes I am =) I’ve heard very good things about that ramen place. Will try it… soon I hope.

      I have been too busy (worked during the holidays!!)

Leave a comment